Derailure to Communicate.

27 Feb

Interrobang!?*

Pardon my puntification.

Sorry.  I just couldn’t stop.

I’m all done now.  Let’s carry on as though that didn’t happen.  Thank you.

I know a few folks who seem to be experts in this sort of derailing, and sometimes it can be difficult to determine if they are being unintentional asshats, are just not savvy in the realm of interpersonal communications, are intentionally gaslighting you (link to a fantastic piece on The Good Men Project), or are disordered something-paths or narcissists that only dwell in their own little realm of precision asshattery (or assmillinery.  Yes, I know a few that not only make their own hats but they trim, bedazzle, bejewel, and embroider their asshats to dazzle and confuse unsuspecting people trying to communicate and generally live with them.)

This is a fantastic piece that came to my attention, awhile back, courtesy of The Perorations of Lady Bracknell.  I am sharing this version, as it originally appeared and now, thankfully, appears on Bird Of Paradox.  The website, Derailing For Dummies, is back online, but I can’t seem to find this particular piece native on their site/blog.

I hope it brings some clarity and awareness of communication etiquette, be it your own or that of someone who is a serial derailor (derailetor?).

Even the most adept communicator can benefit from this gem.

Here’s the link:

Derailing For Dummies (reconstructed from Google Cache, by BirdOfParadox.Wordpress.com)

Cheers,

B.

*Stylized Interrobang ink by Matt Lackey at Howl Gallery Fort Myers, Florida.  I’ve had this for over a year.  I like the versatility of the interrobang.  I also have an asterisk to tell folks that there is more to my story.

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

