If only everyone could see…

7 Nov

the amount of progress and growth this one image shares….

My kid has his hand in a pumpkin.  He is helping with scooping out the pumpkin guts and seeds.

I rubbed my eyes and pinched myself when I saw this little bit of fantastic in his folder.

This is a kid who doesn’t like getting his hands dirty or grubby.  He has huge issues of tactile defensiveness.

This one picture captures 5 years of hard work and progress.  Alex has worked so hard, on his own and with the help of occupational therapists and with tactile challenges introduced here at home (I try to include him in every smooshy part of cooking and baking).

My amazing, sweet, kind, funny, smart kid.

He kept his hand in long enough for them to take the picture.  He confessed to me that it made him hiccup (made him very nearly vomit) and it was horrible.  I confessed that I was amazed he even put his hand within a foot of pumpkin guts.  I also told him that ladies put pumpkin guts on their faces to help them look pretty.  He thought that was (like most girly things) hilarious and weird.

So proud of him.  He is of the mindset though that he did this once and will never ever do it again (he passed up helping with pumpkin carving at home).   That’s fine by me.  I’m so proud of him for not hurling all over the place when he did it this once.  I’m so proud of him for not melting down over the idea of touching pumpkin guts.

Fantastically gigantic heaps of slimy progress!  YEAH!   (and there are more snapshots and tales of the amazing work he is doing.  I can’t wait to share them with all of you! I’m proud of him on any old day.  I’m bursting at the seams with all of the things he is mastering/conquering.)

 

xo

B

One Response to “If only everyone could see…”

  1. Shelley November 8, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    This is great progress!

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

