It Gets Better: Asperger’s Edition

27 Aug
2 Responses to “It Gets Better: Asperger’s Edition”

  1. autisticaplanet August 29, 2011 at 7:04 am #

    Excellent and inspirational video. I have Asperger’s Syndrome and am more restricted than most due to sensory processing disorder, I am very proud of what I did putting together my ear-gear to protect my sensitive hearing. I hope to find people who accept me for who I am without fault, but I’d rather be alone than ever be bullied again. I’m also on WordPress and on YouTube. I would never guess English was your 2nd language. I had trouble learning basic Spanish.

    • Bek August 31, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

      Hello! It’s nice to meet you! The video is not me. I just reposted it from You Tube. I think the young woman in the video did an excellent job of explaining what so many of us go through every day. I have Asperger’s as well and have challenges understanding spoken language as I have a processing delay. Thanks to email/Facebook/etc I am able to communicate in a meaningful way, unlike on the phone where I had a tendency to babble for long gaps of time and change the subject so I could talk more to cover up that I couldn’t respond in a meaningful way to what the person on the other end was telling me. I would always get off the phone and feel bad that I had talked so much about what was going on in my life and little about the person I was talking to and I would revisit that lousy/guilty feeling when I finally processed what they had told me and came up with an appropriate response. In person, I used to babble as well, but now I just don’t talk much. I agree with you- I would rather be alone than bullied. There are people that accept my (and my son’s) differences and don’t penalize me for being me. There are other people who are no longer a part of my life, due to their own decisions and actions and a refusal to accept Alex and me. It sometimes seems like people are willing to accept us as long as we have on our “nt” masks but when times get tough or even the smallest of our Aspie traits are noticeable we are treated like we are the bad guy and they feel like they no longer have to treat us like people (never mind that we are people that are often connected to them by blood, marriage, work, friends, etc..) and while we have to give them the benefit of the doubt when they don’t “get” our Asperger’s, they don’t have to offer the same. It’s very frustrating. There seems to be a double standard at work- we get criticized for our Asperger’s traits but they should be allowed to carry on intentionally bullying. It just bugs me that we are always expected to adapt yet they can’t offer us the benefit of the doubt or take a minute to explain something if we are missing it.
      I am working very hard to assure that my son grows up feeling good about himself and so far he is mostly proud of our Asperger’s.. It isn’t without struggle, but the struggle is more navigable thanks to folks like the woman in the video, you, other bloggers, various sites, etc… I understand the sensory stuff. I have very sensitive hearing, as does Alex, and we are both big fans of earplugs and those sound dampening headsets. I like the earplugs made for musicians as they allow enough sound so I don’t feel totally blocked off but dampen enough that I don’t feel like duct taping pillows over my ears and hiding in a quiet room. Anyway, thanks for the comment and best wishes! Off to check out your blog!

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

