Red Blood Cell vs The Bad Guys

4 Oct

Yee-haw.

Ok, not really exciting. Or at least not exciting to most of you… I was trying to explain to Alex what happens between exposure to a trigger substance and the hemolytic anemia part of G6PD Deficiency.

So I told him that the bad stuff makes them explode.

That got his attention.

Eventually, he’ll know the scientific terms for the process, but the idea of cells exploding and making him feel sick is enough to keep him hyper-vigilant over what is safe to eat.   Of course, being my sweet little hyper-focused Aspie with a splash of OCD in there, he triple checks everything that I (a hyper-focused Aspie with obsessive attention to detail) have already quadruple checked.  I told him that I would not put anything in his lunch box that is on the “bad stuff list” and he came home twice that week with some lunch items uneaten because he had questions about the ingredients.  I reaffirmed that I am staying on top of it, but at the same time I am enormously proud that he is this committed to protecting his own health.

Anyway, above is  a picture he drew in his school journal this week, and here is the text that accompanied it…

More on our adventures with G6PD Deficiency coming soon…. The best page I have found, so far, as G6PDDeficiency.org.  There are plenty of general info pages, and a couple of information sites, but I find G6PDDeficiency.org to have the most real life information that doesn’t rely on the stereotypes promoted by early research (important research, but one that prevents diagnosis, in my opinion, when it is the only very incomplete version being passed around to this day).

xo

Bek
Bookmark and Share

2 Responses to “Red Blood Cell vs The Bad Guys”

  1. Rayna October 4, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    Alex is a kid you can be proud of- as I am sure you are. How old is he?

  2. wasim javed October 6, 2010 at 4:07 am #

    Hi,

    Your blog is very nice and the information that you gives. I made a blog and want to improve my blog. Therefore visit my blog and give me some Suggestions.

    Thanks

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

