No Returns Without Receipt.

14 Apr

I promise things will be more upbeat and accidental thong-esque shortly.
Really.
Promise.

Here’s some good news: baldguy started training for his census job yesterday! The first work he has had in 20 months! So proud of him! I became an Auntie this week when my baby brother and his wonderful wife welcomed their gorgeous baby girl! I hope to get out to OH later this year (pending me being patched up) to meet everyone in person!

Ok, now back to the serious-ish stuff.

So here are my questions for you today.
1. Have you ever had a headache so intense that you lost the ability to comprehend language? I swear I almost said “NARM!” (Six Feet Under) today because I couldn’t find words or understand them. Alex was sweet and hung out with me on my bed until I regained the gift of gab. He really is a wonder, a gift, a miracle. Best kid ever.

2. (and this one is from our local news station) Should adoptive parents be able to return their adopted children? Vote below!

(sorry. this picture was just too perfect.)

No Returns Without Receipt

I’m a little scared to ask my adoptive parents how they would vote. Mostly because my head is just a ball of intense pain and standing in line at Adoptions R’US while the clerk tries to find the 34 year old receipt in the system and my mom makes my dad handle the return while she browses for a sportier model just sounds like torture.

I kid. Well, there’s always a wee bit o’ truth and honey in there for you.

I’m planning a longer bit on adoption, as it has been coming up so frequently lately- news, blogs, twitter, etc… I just kind of want to put my perspective (as an adult adoptee with multiple disabilities) on these issues… But for now…What are your thoughts?

Is returning an adopted child screaming of equality? The next thing you know, natural born are going to be demanding to be returned as well. And frankly, there are some rather sizeable physical limitations to that scenario.

Anyway,
I will call the doc in the morning. I just can’t get comfortable. I am reading quite a bit though, as the Kindle is light enough that I can lock up my elby-bones and read while resting flat. As of this evening though even pancaking myself on the bed isn’t easing the pain. So I’m up. For now. Until meds kick in. They don’t even take a nip out of the pain, but they make me sleepy and take the edge off the raw pain*-adrenaline cocktail that is ruling my life lately.

xo
B

*and really I’m not a big baby. I have been through some crazy shidoobi in my day, especially with medical stuff. I have a hugely high pain tolerance and between that and my Asperger’s I think I’m not really making how bad the pain really is clear enough to the docs. I’m kind of a goofy girl, but I get really quiet and mellow and calm with pain. I think I calculate everything more precisely, so as to not trigger more pain or damage.

Bookmark and Share

One Response to “No Returns Without Receipt.”

  1. Shelley April 14, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    Yes, I’ve had headaches that bad, headaches that make me throw up (sorry for the visual), headaches where the light is excruciating & both moving & not moving, sitting, standing or lying down are all painful. Some doctors have said they’re migraines & for awhile they though it was allergies.
    I hope you are doing better.

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

