Purse safety tip…

18 Jun

Last night and today I have seen the video of the 82 year old woman in a Florida Publix store having her purse snatched, slamming her and her 80 year old brother to the ground. I think I have seen it a few dozen times. Hey, I had an early docs appointment and had some mellow rest as the sleep I should have had overnight was punctuated with kid feet (we had thunderstorms last night) and some of my ‘betes technology was beeping every hour. Fun. Anyway….

I can’t remember where I first learned this suggestion, but since I have stopped sporting a backpack diaperbag everywhere I go and have returned to a smallish bag/handbag/purse, I find that it doesn’t replace vigilance and care, but it does help a little.

If you put your bag (even a regular diaper bag could be secured this way) in the fold out seat near the handlebar of the shopping cart- simply use the seatbelt (if it is not being used for a small child) and loop it and clip it through the handles or strap of your purse and click-it closed (and if your purse closes for Pete’s sake, close it! No need to tempt anyone who might be up to no good).

It might not be 100%, but with hooligans (yeah, I said it. Call me an old lady. Go ahead. I dare you. *shaking cane in air*) afoot, it is best to take precautions to ensure the safety of you and your belongings. At any rate, even if you do fall (and hopefully are unharmed) the perp will hopefully be slowed down quite a bit by the rolling metal cart he is dragging around by a handbag.

***Of course, the cart-tie method is in no way perfect or guaranteed, use it at your own risk***

xo
Bek

One Response to “Purse safety tip…”

  1. Handbags June 20, 2009 at 3:10 am #

    Wow So beautiful.Thanks for advice.

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

