Ode to Joy

7 Jun

Alex got this roll up keyboard for Christmas this year. We completely forgot about it until Saturday when I decided to print out some easy/beginner sheet music of Ode to Joy to try to entice kiddo to play around with the actual keys (and not just put it on demo over and over and over again)…

So I played Ode to Joy for him, with him standing between my arms hands hovering over mine. And then Eureka! I decided to color code the keys and the sheet music- I figured if he could learn this one song- his heartsong- he would be hooked and hopefully would step away from his ipod and radio and make some music himself.

I sat down with a fistful of magic markers and started making dots.

Alex had other plans- he went to the end of the keyboard (I had played it for him from the center of the keyboard) and this is what he did:

Pretty awesome, huh?


Ode to Joy

Originally uploaded by CleverIndie

Bookmark and Share

One Response to “Ode to Joy”

  1. asdmommy June 19, 2009 at 7:27 pm #

    OHMYGOSH what a great idea! I’m going to have to try this! It’s fabulous!

    So glad you found me, new friend.

    Darcy (asdmommy from What We Need)

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

