Quiet….

18 Oct

It’s quiet… The stress of this week, the fight or flight response of Tuesday’s meeting with the school district, has mellowed a bit…

We are not pulling kiddo from his school until we have a better plan in place.  I feel like we were blindsided and given no time to gather people and information as the test results came in and BAM! same meeting we were writing the IEP- with really no idea of what we could include…

So we are on a little mental vacation from planning and researching a change.  Instead I have been strategizing on how to reach kiddo and the three of us have been working together to plan how to help him in the immediate future.  It’s frustrating.  He is overwhelmed, but also relieved…  He told me he was worried about school.

He said, “I fit in.”

I think he fits in right now the way that someone in camo fits in with the forest…I think he blends enough that some of the kids accept him.  If he feels that he fits in then I am so happy about that.  I never had that feeling of fitting in as a kid- not even with my family, immediate or extended, and I struggle with it as an adult, but for the most part I have my tribe. I am loved and I love. And I love that Alex feels loved by the kids at school, even with the constant struggles and the huge differences.  I love that they take him by the hand and sit him down and even though he is often looking off into space (or at the fire sprinklers or ceiling fan), they treat him as an active participant…  When I pick him up from school the kids tell him that I am there and on occasion this one girl who Alex adores will help him clean up his space and remind him to bring his lunchbag to me, at the door to the classroom… She will hold his hand and lead him to me.  Sometimes I get progress reports.  It’s amazing the differences between the two, and he is 5 and she will be 4 soon and there are similarities, but it’s the differences that are so beautiful and startling and it is this difference between Alex and the other kids that keeps him safe in many ways, at least for now.  At least until they start noticing differences as a negative thing.  It happens. It is life. We have so much work to do and what a rollercoaster we are on…

But I wouldn’t trade this experience for the world…

One Response to “Quiet….”

  1. Hair Loss Treatment : October 26, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    ceiling fans are great for cooling a warm room with large area. i prefer them over multiple desk fans”~,

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

