Wondertwinpowersactivate!

11 Sep

Wondertwinpowersactivate!

Originally uploaded by CleverGirlBek

Ok. So I’m finally starting to catch up on this end….

I finally received my Dexcom Seven STS (Fedex in Fort Myers was holding it hostage and didn’t bother to notify anyone…Seems the shipper forgot to put our unit #) which, and this is the short version, tests my glucose and gives a result every 5 minutes….

The sensor that samples the interstitial fluid is really tiny, although the applicator scared the crap out of me… I’m not big on the “insertion” devices when it comes to my pump infusion sets (sub-q catheters) as I’m a bit of a control freak- I don’t like my subcutaneous needles to go fast- I can’t handle the anticipation and the build up- I like to put them in slow and mellow…. It hurts less that way, at least for me…

Anyway, I have been wearing this thing for 2 weeks and I’m so surprised that each sensor did stay on (with strategic adhesive reinforcements and glad press and seal during showers to protect the adhesive) for the two sessions and they were not uncomfortable (occasionally the one in my belly felt like it was giving me an electrical zap…annoying, but very intermittent….

I am realizing that there is a huge learning curve for these things… As there was with my pump, which I am relearning right now as well to help get in better control…

The transmitter is manageable – fairly small- like a small disposable lighter. This week I have been wearing it in my arm (way less painful than insulin injection or pump infusion set insertion in the arm…pleasantly surprised…) as having it in my belly last week showed a whole bunch of “noise”…More likely than not the noise was from my purpley lightning bolts of fury (stretch marks from my giant preggo belly when I was carrying the big guy)…So this week I tried the arm…

The receiver is another story- not crazy about it. It’s freaking huge. I rigged a hook to it to hang it from my waistband as it came close to taking a dive a few times, and it is not waterproof. I did order a great little pouch from diabetesmall.com but I’m kind of digging being able to check the screen without opening the velcro flap…Still undecided….
This week the receiver keeps losing contact with the sensor and transmitter and it is making me nuts- a simple thing like having the transmitter in contact with my mattress or the receiver near my laptop seems to disrupt it.… So far I know not to rely on any of the numbers but the dexcom is helpful for following trends and hopefully adjusting my insulin dosages/basal rates, but I’m still testing with finger sticks like a maniac (around 10 times a day lately) and noticing some fairly wide differences in numbers…

The one thing I am really disappointed about, that I may return this and try for the Navigator, is that this doesn’t alert you to potentially dangerous trends (potential lows and highs) but it does alert you when you go above or below a certain point. I knew this going in, but I don’t think I realized how important that feature is in my world… As my hypoglycemia unawareness is pretty lousy and a low leaves me out of commission for up to 24 hours these days, and interstitial fluid readings are around 15-20 minutes behind finger sticks, I would like, at the very least, a higher “low” threshold… The other day I was registering as low at 90 but my fingerstick was 45. For me, that is too late and a little scary (especially in the middle of the night) and made me wonder if one of my reasons (I had a few) for wanting this bulky technology in my life is now invalid…

I mean, trends are going to save my life, but the way I look at it- the warning of lows, in advance, could save my kid’s life and my life and will give me back more time that I am losing from recovering from the highs and lows….

More on my Dexcom Seven experience over the next few weeks…. Still trying to figure it out and make a decision…

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

