Goggles.

11 Aug



Goggles.

Originally uploaded by CleverGirlBek

Coolest googles/glasses ever….

Mid-century Safety Glasses from Chigal.Etsy.com….

I am obsessed with eyeglasses lately…Mostly because I have this corrective lenses RX burning a hole in my pocket….

Originally, I started wearing glasses in 5th grade. I thought I was the coolest kid in the world. I also wanted braces. I was weird like that. I think I thought that if I had braces and really hideous pale lavender plastic aviators then I would have a chance at being the ugly duckling that turns into a swan…Like in a bunch of 80’s tween movies…. What can I say, I was awkward and uncomfortable in my own skin. I guess I thought that if I went from awkward to really awkward than my base level of awkward would be comparatively beautiful. Since then I have had blinding cataracts, and the lens implantation surgery (I have plastic and metal lenses in my eyeballs…yes, I was awake through the surgery (and had to sneeze…talk about a panic attack!) and I have the video somewhere…)…My bionic lenses make my pupils reflect all “cats eye” when the light hits them just right…I had a boss, once upon a time, who was mildly freaked out by this…

I think I spent way too much time developing this theory as a 10 year old. But where I come from, appearance is all too important. I have seen it paralyze my mother her entire life. I was there, going through morphine withdrawl (post emergency spine surgery….hospital screwed up my RX so I went from “enough to drug a horse” to raw nerves firing, screaming and all of the craziness that comes with that sort of a chemical snap) vomiting and sweating, dehydrating, severely hypoglycemic and drinking gallons of juice but I kept dropping, my antibiotic IV pump was alarming and my fever was rising…. Unable to take care of myself. I was there, waiting for her to help me up to drive me to the emergency room. I waited for 4 hours while she made herself “presentable”. Thankfully, my dad came home at that point and drove me right to the hospital. An emergency is an emergency is an emergency…. But for her, pruning is her OCD. It is illness, it is dangerous.

So I do reject that level of vanity. And I rarely ask myself what a stranger (like those in a hospital waiting room) would think. I do ask myself what my kid might think. Because he Is more important than anyone or anything else in my world. I’m not saying that folks should just be comfy and not dress for success. I’m just saying that dressing for success should be appropriately channeled, so that failure does not derail all of your attempts… I’m also a bit more comfortable in my own skin these days, which helps…

But I do need glasses…

So I bought these and someday I will have rx lenses put in them… But for now they sit on my table, and they do seem to be sending me some positive energy with which I will create, create, create…
For now, I have ordered 2 pairs of glasses off of the internet… I’ll report back when they arrive… I just don’t have time to head to the optician/lenscrafters these days….

We shall see (and hopefully we shall see clearly!)

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

