Surpises Abound. AKA Books are Moovelous. Part 2.

17 Jul

OK. So daily viewings of Wilbur have made the show grow on me a bit, and I was starting to feel like maybe my old rant was jumping the gun a bit…

We were watching the other day and in the beginning of the part where they read a book they usually show a page or two of the “book” (A digital book)… I thought this was one of the better concepts to encourage kids to read.  Unfortunately, the literary bunch that creates the show does seem to have a bit of an achilles heel when it comes to spelling.

The book was being read and the page shown…. What was said was “surprised”…What was written on the page was “surpised”

Yesterday, little guy kept correcting me and telling me that things were a “surpise”….

I like the idea of teaching kids to love reading, but I think proper spelling when doing so is key…

Butt hay, thatz juhst mie oponion.

(and don’t even get me started on their odd need to make every other “fantasy sequence” character faux Italian (complete with dreadful fake accent and putting an “o” at the end of the character’s fantasy double))….

:-p

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

