Ping-tastic!

8 Jul

Just wound up on the Animas Corp website to see if I could order my pump supplies using their webstore when I found a lovely little press release about the new One Touch Ping Glucose Management System.

At first glance the Ping looks like the old one touch ultra smart meters… On further reading, it seems to be a combination of insulin pump remote and data management system, when combined with the new EZ Manager MAX software.

I spoke to a rep in the supply ordering dept at Animas this morning and found out that when it is released in Mid-August 2008 it will not be an add on to my existing pump, a 2020 (which was brand new in January 2008)… The One Touch Ping is a complete package and not just a shmancy number crunching meter as I thought or a meter and remote- it is an entire pumping package.

While I would love a continuous glucose dealio with all of my heart and soul, but cannot afford one at this time, I am ecstatic that Animas & OneTouch (same parent corp- Johnson & Johnson) are making data management easier.

I really don’t care about the remote feature.  I do not need remote access to my pump. I am not a concealer, I wear it with pride clipped to my pants.  Some folks have asked if it’s a new model cell phone…Someone asked if it is a satellite phone (it’s a little more chunky and rugged looking than most current cell models)… When I need to use it I unclip it, do what I need to do, and clip it back on…It does help that it has a clip that is attached directly to the back of the pump…Back in my Cozmo and even in my Disetronic H-Tron days I found the various pouches to be helpful but not perfect… And only late in my Cozmo usage did I discover Unique Accessories’ solution which worked beautifully and for me… Also, I’m not quite clear on what sort of screen the PING meter/remote (can we call it a glu-mote?) will have but one of the reasons I chose the Animas 2020 this time around was the clarity of the screen (in color and super bright…it’s like having a little lcd TV on me at all times…OK, without anything that entertaining.)it’s really nice not having to hunt up reading glasses or put my health at risk by doing a squint and guess…

As I have had my 2020 for less than a year the cost of exchanging it (they have a tiered program) is $399. Not a ton of money and for me totally worth it as recording usable data has always been a weak area for me in my diabetes care.   But it’s still $399 so I will wait and see what happens with bald guy’s job and kiddo’s school stuff.

The other cool part of this announcement is that there will also be new EZ Manager MAX software and it will be MAC and PC compatible!  Woohoo!  I do use a Mac but I also have Windows installed just for my diabetes management software. It will be so nice to not have to use Boot Camp anymore…

Anyway, good news all around…

You can read the press release here.

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

