Fordite.

3 Jul

“fordite”

Originally uploaded by CleverGirlBek

More info on Fordite can be found at Fordite.com

This is a beautiful piece of Fordite (aka Detroitite)…

Fordite is composed of a zillion layers of paint that accumulated on the frames they used for spraying the car bodies during production…

The colors and visual texture (sparkly!) are out of this world…

This is my favorite bit of it…This one is drilled lengthwise…. Don’t know what I am going to do with it just yet.. So for now it is sitting on my laptop so I can continue admiring it…

One Response to “Fordite.”

  1. Melinda Dowd September 7, 2008 at 12:16 pm #

    I have just recently found out about Fordite!
    I saw some pendants at a nice craft show. I had not heard about this before. I was so taken by the background of it. My husband works in the automotive industry. We have restored a 1950 Ford truck and are working on a 1930 Model A sedan. He curently works for Ford….So I had to have one of these pendants. I emailed the artist and received my fordite pendant today…Love it..will be wearing it alot. Just thought I would send you a short email about my new love of Fordite!

    THanks.

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

