Puff’s cave?

21 Apr

Puff’s cave…

Originally uploaded by caruso_jeff

Sent baldguy off to Kauai with a treasure hunt list- some were actual things, some were photos to take.

This is Puff,The Magic Dragon’s cave. I asked him to take this for little guy. For the record, I think this may be Puff’s tunnel, but what do I know… I’m just going by the storybook on this one… (lots of lava caves around Kauai from what I understand…this is not a lava cave…)…. Boy and I read Puff, the Magic Dragon over and over… It’s the only story he wanted to hear while baldguy was away… Mostly because “Puff” takes place in Kauai, kind of by accident according to the last page of the book… So we looked at the map of Honalee and boy tried to spot daddy. He fell asleep with the book most nights.

Anyway, baldguy is back. I wound up losing my marbles in the middle of last week. Being sick and being a tired mama to a little guy with special needs who does not handle change at all, and having a spouse away on an extravagant all-expense-paid vacation (that we all could have gone on…grrrr. picture the peanuts comic squiggly line above my head.) all came crashing down on me in the middle of the week in a bad way. I was going to try to be graceful about the whole thing, and if it was just one thing I would have smiled and waved, smiled and waved… But it was everything. All at once. And I cracked.

I think I cried for 24 hours straight and an additional 12 hours divided throughout 2 additional business days. I understand how I feel and why I feel like this. I’m doing better now. But I’m still tired and wiped out (and I’ve got extra sick sinuses on top of the usual stuff) and buried under trying to get boyo in order. Still taking time off from working on new and custom pieces. Trying to get all of our ducks in a row….

Anyway- check out Puff, the Magic Dragon… Beautifully illustrated and a lovely story (and song)… This edition includes a CD with the song and a few others.. Definitely at the top of our favorite story lists…

And while the animated version of my youth (now easily located on youtube.com) will always have a place in my heart, this storybook version is a bit more soothing and lilting….

Enjoy….

(of course when baldguy went to work this morning and was gone by the time boyo was fully awake, boyo declared that Daddy was back in Kauai… )

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

