Gahhhhhhhhhh!

31 Mar

contractor bags and duct tape

That is my distressed/battle cry when I can’t get a plastic bag open- with grocery bags it’s pretty easy…Just keep rolling them between fingers and eventually they will separate.

I have yet to reach that breaking point with Contractor Bags.

And lately, I’m using a ton of them… Don’t fret, my friends. I’m not stocking up the landfills of the south lands. But I do have a little kid and a GE refrigerator that roasts things once a year- so an occasional bag does actually contain trash but I have also found them to be a great container of transport, a holding device of sorts, for things heading to our local goodwill.

The problem is I can’t open the darn things. They are thick and sturdy and melty-welded together on one end, and un- breachable on the other.

GAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

Makes me nuts.

I was watching a movie a long while ago and watched as a robber cut a circle in a plate glass window and removed the (really freakishly perfect) circle with one of those doohickey handles with the suction cups and I thought “Eureka! Contractor Bags will no longer stymie this gal from donating (and occasionally throwing out large amounts of turned dairy)!”

The solution was simple.

DUCT TAPE.

I know! I feel ever so clever that is took me this long to figure *that* out… Good gravy!

So I put a little length of duct tape right on the box to keep it handy… Simply stick the duct tape on one side of the (supposed) opening of the bag and pull…

I have my piece of duct tape a little different than in the picture- I have it mostly folded over so only a little adhesive is showing and it doesn’t just perma-adhere to the bag (and then render the gigantic bag useless as a bag, and pretty useless except as a small tarpaulin).

Also- clear packing tape works… Pretty girly decorated packing tape works (but I can’t find mine now that I switched to the reinforced paper tape stuff)…. Blue painter’s masking tape doesn’t work so well, but that is more for masking than for adhesive prowess.

But Duct Tape rocks…..

I may have to keep a stash in my glove box for the produce bags at the natural foods market- those are taunting my arthritic hands these days….

Wondering if they make a “green” duct tape…. (off to find out….)

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

