Thanks a latte…

22 Mar

Thanks a latte…

Originally uploaded by CleverGirlBek

So Saturday morning my latte arrives, and every Saturday morning it has a double lid on it and the holes don’t match up…

Finally, last week I was giving this a way-too-sizeable brain expedition…

I wondered if there was any way to calculate how many lids Double-D was losing, and therefore how much revenue, because employees were taking part in careless capping.

I thought of all of the factors, and wondered what the probability of me always getting the doubled lid was…. I tried to remember which kid in my Independent Science Research class in high school studied chaos theory… Then boy came and raspberried me on the back of my knee and then I forgot all about it…

Until this morning when my latte arrived and I mentioned to baldguy, “It’s funny, every week I get a doubled lid”….

Turns out an intrepid DD employee asked him if he would like a double lid to prevent the typical coffee drip end of auto lease disaster staining often caused by sloshing coffee in single lidded containers (especially those that are in one of those disposable drink caddies)….

So baldguy has asked for a double lid every time since…

and I’ve completely come out as a science geek. Ooops.

Anyway- considering our frequent and epic drought conditions here in SW Florida, in honor of World Water Day today, it is drizzling! Woohoo!

But everyday, not just today, I wonder (as I pack up a bag lunch for little guy) as all of us are trying to make these decisions to make the world healthier for everyone and reduce the burden we impose on our planet- in some cases are we using more resources (or even the same amount) to clean our reusable coffee mugs/brown bags/reusable water bottles than we would be using by doing the less theoretically green thing….

Ok, here’s an example… We recycle whatever we cannot reuse in our home… BUT what is the environmental impact of having to wash a tomato sauce jar squeaky clean before it goes in the bin and then out to the curb on recycling day… It takes awhile, and a bunch of soap and elbow grease and water, to get that jar to the point where recycling will actually take it, and not waste paper by posting a warning or fine, and to the point where our neighborhood creatures (anywhere from lovely miniature owls to the 2nd largest lizard in the world…darling cousin of the kimodo dragon…I kid you not! to raccoons and other furry creatures) won’t be interested in distributing the recycling bin contents all over our neighborhood, where they might become a hazard to some other creatures…

Just some thoughts…..

So, to make a long story short… Happy World Water Day…. Visit the unicef site for lots more info…Google it, etc…

reduce, reuse, recycle….

xo
b

2 Responses to “Thanks a latte…”

  1. ave March 22, 2008 at 1:17 pm #

    I do this all the time! Analyze something and make it really complicated, then come to find out the answer is actually completely obvious and un-profound.

    Although I solved your double-lid mystery within the first paragraph…only because I used to work at a coffee shop. =)

  2. europeannaturalmedicine March 23, 2009 at 11:57 am #

    Beautiful blog – wish you had written for yesterday’s World Water Day 2009.

    Alexa Fleckenstein M.D., physician, author.

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

