Magic Hour.

18 Mar

Sunset

Originally uploaded by CleverGirlBek

In another lifetime I worked with film and I am still obsessive about the glow of magic hour…

I try to bring that sort of light to my metalwork, at every opportunity. I love contrast. I love making, by hand and with only a couple of tools, thrones for vintage plastic bits… Glass is lovely as well, and occasionally I do work with glass, but I’m forever in love with the jewels of our grandmothers and bringing them back into the light…

I love dark metal and vintage Lucite in various degrees of translucence… This piece is a matte finish deep tangerine. In this setting, with this contrast, it actually reflects light and appears to be lit, just a bit, from behind…

It glows.

Just like the earth during the warm flirtation of the sun’s angle at magic hour….

Magic Hour will arrive shortly, in my shop.

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

