The first cut….

8 Mar

The first cut….Originally uploaded by CleverGirlBekFinally decided Alex was ready to part with his crib. For the record, he may be 4.5 but he is on the smaller side (most folks think he is 3- a very smart and advanced 3….) so he was in his crib (Christopher Ross’ Tall Grass Crib… a really exciting find during a rare preggo adventure long ago…quite a deal on my dream crib for my babe), converted to be a toddler bed, until a couple of months ago…For the past few months I have been dreaming up ways to make his crib useable because I love it, but I just don’t have the energy… So I took the mattress and mattress supports out and as I was kneeling on the ground taking one of the sides off I realized that from the perspective of a 34″ tall person the 3 remaining sides make a really cool room divider… So I took his reconfigured changing table (it turns into a desk… It’s the Stokke one), put it inside the 3 walls, set it up and waited for him to come home.This is a kid that doesn’t do well with transitions or change so I wasn’t expecting my glee to be echoed by him…But I figured I could move it the way he wanted to if he tweaked as the three crib sides are on casters… Also it’s a nice solution so I can transition a little easier :-)I was wrong.He is thrilled.He wants to hang out in his office and wants us to leave him alone while he does his work….I also put a pair of kid scissors in his drawing implement carousel….So he sat right down- did his little stylistic tag of his name in red-orange crayon and proceeded to spend over an hour cutting these fringes in the paper….In this photo he is holding his creation up so I could take a picture of him with it. Then he proclaimed that it is heading up north to Grammy.Oh and yes, that is a bandaid on his arm. He got a bug bite at school the other day and requested a bandaid when he came home. He is not a fan of bandaids, so this is another one of those “strange but making me happy” developments….I’m thrilled….

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

