Finally…

1 Oct

Midcentury. Earrings

Originally uploaded by CleverGirlBek

I’ve had these buttons forever. I’ve also had these fabulous steel retainer rings for awhile now and the two finally wound up on one of my many work surfaces (I’m a sprawler) this past weekend and EUREKA!

I’ve made many, many, many earrings. I think these are my favorite as I think I worked the buttons at least a dozen times into various designs but they didn’t feel right. Finally they just fit. With another component (the rings) I have been obsessing over but not finding a unique place where they felt right. The rings have probably spent at least 50 hours in my tumbler over the course of the summer just getting a bit more worn and developing a lovely dark patina…

____

I’m still a bit uneasy and off this Monday morning… Seems the universe could use a trip to the chiropractor…Things are just crooked and off-kilter. I think it’s adjusting to the empty space in our family. I also think part of it is a huge transition into being a gwown-up that J and I have avoided for a long time…

I think a ton of it is that I’ve been given my wings, and I need to jump, but part of me wants to procrastinate. Part of me is so excited I don’t know where to jump first.

*hugs*

One Response to “Finally…”

  1. Lady Bracknell's Editor October 30, 2007 at 9:45 am #

    I am now the very proud owner of these wonderful earrings. Bek – you’re a genius!

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

