nine eleven

11 Sep

It has been 6 years and I finally feel, this morning, like sitting down and writing about it.

But I can’t.

This morning:

Alex is home from school again.

Alex needs help on the potty.

I’m hunting up my xrays for a doc appointment.

The phone is ringing.

The tumbler is busted again so I’m hunting up a large rubberband to jerryrig a fix so I can finish these three pieces

My mom is calling to confirm pick-up time

I have paperwork to fill out for our esteemed government

I think Alex has a fever

The electric company called because I forgot to pay the bill last month

Alex is now crying at me that he needs a fish tank with a fan. Seriously. He’s way too worked up about this fish tank idea.

We are having Alex evaluated, at the request of his school, by an Occupational Therapist and I have to dig through the files for the paperwork from his last OT back in Boston.

Minor stuff, in whatever the grand scheme of things may be…

but it reminds me that the world keeps turning.

And it keeps me from focusing enough to write a deep and meaningful post this morning.

A new friend told me of a personal tragedy this week and said (about her experience) that life goes on. That there is a new normal. That’s what we have been in since 9/11. The new normal. And for some of us, like my little guy born in 2003, this isn’t new at all, it’s all there has ever been.

Going to go hug my kid and jack him up on Pedialyte.

Hugs all around.

Peace.

B

One Response to “nine eleven”

  1. fernfiddlehead September 11, 2007 at 9:13 am #

    The new normal… You’re right about that. And it’s great that you have the little guy to focus on. My post today was a remembering of that day for me. I had time. My kids are bigger.

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

