Sometimes folks can wait…

26 May

Ok. I’ll be frank here (no. you be Frank this time!) …It’s a pretty well known fact, with friends and family(the real ones, not the “plan” ones) that except for emergencies I am not a fan of cellular phones.

They make me bananas.

Sure many folks use them for business and they are oh-so-busy…. But I honestly believe that except for rare circumstances, there should be time in the day when people just have to wait for you to return their call.

Everyone bitched and moaned about telemarketers for ages- the family dinner interruptions, etc… But many of those same people have an earpiece in and look freaking batty walking down the street chatting away, and many of those people expose way too much of their private life when they are buying eggplant or taking the train.

I think we are all just too busy anyways. The demands of our lives can be so hefty at times that they manifest themselves as physical and mental illness.

Sometimes you’ve just got to shut the ringer off… What are you doing all this work for that you need to be on the horn during a dinner out (or at a movie theater while the movie is playing!!!) Perhaps you wouldn’t have to work as hard if you put down the phone for a few minutes here and there and truly put yourself into the moment rather than jumping in a most Pavlovian manner when you hear that (extremely irritating pop song) ringtone…. Maybe then priorities would be clearer and breathing would be easier…

That being said…For those emergencies when I even remember that we have a cellular telephone I do need this

(I am a gadget freak but more than that I am a fan of old school design combined with gadgetry…)

One Response to “Sometimes folks can wait…”

  1. Zazazu May 28, 2007 at 11:47 am #

    I don’t do cell phones either. I have one but it is on silent ALL the time. If someone calls or texts, I call or text them back when I have time. They are too much trouble and too intrusive, if you ask me.

It's your turn to share! What's on your mind?

